Tyler Erb Earns Biggest Career Win In Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series I-80 Nationals Domination

Story By: LUCAS OIL LATE MODEL DIRT SERIES – GREENWOOD, NE – Tyler Erb remains red-hot as the 24-year-old Texas native scored the biggest win of his racing career on Thursday Night at I-80 Speedway. Leading all 53 laps, Erb picked up $30,000 in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event.

Erb’s had a dominating performance in the caution-free race with a margin of victory of 5.5 seconds over Hudson O’Neal. Brandon Overton came home in third with Spencer Hughes and Ricky Thornton Jr. rounding out the top five drivers.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the fourth time in 2021, Erb was congratulated by his crew chief Randall Edwards and his race team. “Going caution-free helps. Once you get in the rhythm there, you just try to keep going the same speed you are going, and you can tell when you mess up. I got to racing with lapped cars and I think my lead closed a little bit. This is awesome, this is the biggest win of my career, so I am pumped.”

O’Neal, who ran second to Overton on Tuesday Night came home in second. “I didn’t know how close I could get to him [Erb] as far out he was. I knew traffic was going to play a big deal. Whenever I got by Spencer [Hughes] for second I started to get a little closer and then I caught lapped traffic just like he was in. We had a great night and it’s been a great week so far; I am happy to get a couple of more nights to run for some great money.”

Tuesday Night’s winner, Overton, earned a podium finish with his third place showing. “We are all on the same tires here. So, we have no excuses there. We just got better and better as the race went on. With this crowd it’s a good night for us. We still have two more days left so we are just going to keep on working on it and we’ll get them.”

The winner’s Eric and Kelly Brock Best Performance Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by M&W Transport, Roberts Bee Company, First Class Septic, Posi Flow, Midwest Sheet Metal, Bazell Race Fuels, Go Lithium, Keyser Manufacturing, and KBC Graphics.

Completing the top ten were Ricky Weiss, Stormy Scott, Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport, and Shane Clanton.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
I-80 Speedway
Thursday, July 28th, 2021
I-80 Speedway – Greenwood, NE

LINE-X B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 14-Josh Richards[2]; 2. 04-Tad Pospisil[4]; 3. 66C-Matt Cosner[1]; 4. 22F-Chris Ferguson[6]; 5. 24-Bill Leighton[3]; 6. 22H-Daniel Hilsabeck[7]; 7. 98-Ben Schaller[5]; 8. 7R-Ross Robinson[10]; 9. 99B-Boom Briggs[11]; 10. 7D-Dusty Leonard[9]; 11. 26JR-Corey Zeitner[8]; 12. 80-Allan Hopp[13]; 13. 53-Andrew Kosiski[12]

UNOH B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 1C-Chad Simpson[2]; 2. 0-Scott Bloomquist[4]; 3. 3S-Brian Shirley[1]; 4. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[7]; 5. 22M-Charlie McKenna[3]; 6. 14J-Jake Neal[5]; 7. 52-Brian Kosiski[11]; 8. 3C-Mike Collins[8]; 9. 6H-Al Humphrey[9]; 10. 14M-Reid Millard[12]; 11. 45-Dan Battaglia[13]; 12. 49T-Jake Timm[6]; 13. 10C-Junior Coover[10]

Lyles Tire & Wheels Last Dance Non-Qualifier Finish (20 Laps, Winner Transfers): 1. 22H-Daniel Hilsabeck[1]; 2. 7R-Ross Robinson[3]; 3. 52-Brian Kosiski[2]; 4. 99B-Boom Briggs[5]; 5. 6H-Al Humphrey[6]; 6. 3C-Mike Collins[4]; 7. 7D-Dusty Leonard[7]; 8. 26JR-Corey Zeitner[9]; 9. 80-Allan Hopp[11]; 10. 53-Andrew Kosiski[13]; 11. 49T-Jake Timm[12]; 12. 10C-Junior Coover[14]; 13. 45-Dan Battaglia[10]; 14. 14M-Reid Millard[8]

Al Belt Custom Homes I-80 Nationals Feature Finish (53 Laps):

Pos Start Car # Competitor Hometown Pay
1 1 1T Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $30,000
2 6 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $18,000
3 3 76 Brandon Overton Evans, GA $10,000
4 5 11H Spencer Hughes Meridian, MS $7,000
5 7 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr. Adel, IA $6,000
6 2 7W Ricky Weiss Headingley, MB $5,000
7 8 2S Stormy Scott Las Cruces, NM $4,500
8 12 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $4,000
9 10 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $3,900
10 4 25 Shane Clanton Zebulon, GA $3,800
11 16 32S Chris Simpson Oxford, IA $3,700
12 24 3S Brian Shirley Chatham, IL $3,600
13 15 1S Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $3,500
14 14 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $3,400
15 13 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $3,300
16 11 18J Chase Junghans Manhattan, KS $3,200
17 9 99JR Frank Heckenast Jr Frankfort, IL $3,100
18 19 14 Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $3,000
19 20 1C Chad Simpson Mt. Vernon, IA $2,900
20 17 16 Tyler Bruening Decorah, IA $2,800
21 18 157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN $2,700
22 22 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $2,600
23 21 4 Tad Pospisil Norfolk, NE $2,500
24 23 66C Matt Cosner Ridgeley, WV $2,400
25 26 1 Earl Pearson Jr Jacksonville, FL $2,300
26 29 14J Jake Neal Omaha, NE $2,200
27 30 98 Ben Schaller Omaha, NE $2,100
28 28 22M Charlie McKenna Ames, IA $2,000
29 25 22F Chris Ferguson Mt. Holly, NC $2,000
30 27 24 Bill Leighton Lavista, NE $2,000
31 31 22H Daniel Hilsabeck Earlham, IA $4,000

Race Statistics
: 44
Lap Leaders: Tyler Erb (1 – 53)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Tyler Erb
Arizona Sport Shirts CJC – Presented by DirtOnDirt Feature Winner: Tyler Erb
Brandon Ford TV Challenge Feature Winner: Tyler Erb
Margin of Victory: 5.515 seconds
Stop Tech Brakes Cautions: n/a
Series Provisionals: n/a
Best Point Night Provisionals: Bill Leighton, Charlie McKenna
Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Track Provisionals: Jake Neal, Ben Schaller
Big River Steel Podium Top 3: Tyler Erb, Hudson O’Neal, Brandon Overton
Penske Shocks Top 5: Tyler Erb, Hudson O’Neal, Brandon Overton, Spencer Hughes, Ricky Thornton Jr
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Brian Shirley (Advanced 12 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Tim McCreadie
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Tyler Erb (53 Laps)
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Tyler Erb
Eibach Springs Rookie of the Race: Ricky Thornton, Jr.
Dirty Girl Racewear Fastest Lap of the Race: Spencer Hughes (Lap 1 – 18.638 seconds)
Fast Shafts Tough Break of the Race: Junior Coover
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Randall Edwards (Tyler Erb)
ARP Engine Builder of the Race: Clements Racing Engine
Miller Welders Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Dirt Draft Fastest in Hot Laps: Chad Simpson (17.432 seconds)
Time of Race: 17 minutes 22 seconds

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: