Chad Edwards Nails Down Short Track Super Series Sportsman Win Saturday At Fonda

Story By: RON SZCZERBA / FONDA SPEEDWAY – FONDA, NY – Chad Edwards took the lead from Michael Sabia on lap 18 of the 25-lap Short Track Super Series Sportsman feature Saturday evening at the Fonda Speedway and went on to score the $2,000 victory.

It took two tries to get the 25-lap $2,000 to win Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman feature underway with Sabia getting to the lead early from his third place starting position with Corey Cormier in tow. Fifth place starter Tucker O’Connor and seventh place starter Edwards were the new second and third place cars on lap seven and began pressuring the leader at that point.

The yellow flag was out on lap 10 for Brett Mortensen who started the event in the 19th position and was moving into the top ten when he got to the inside of Tim Dwyer in between turns three and four. Dwyer made contact with Mortensen resulting in a broken spindle on the right front of the #1B ending his night.

Edwards got by O’Connor for the second position on the restart and started pressuring Sabia for the lead as the two ran side by side for many laps. Edwards took the lead away from Sabia on the inside of turns one and two on lap 18 and led the remaining laps for his fourth victory of the season and the 13th of his career in the division.

Twenty fourth place starter Payton Talbot finished second followed by 20th place starter Will Shields, O’Connor, and Sabia.

“The track was real racy tonight, the car had a lot of speed,” Edwards said following his win. “I have to thank my car owner John Kollar for going above and beyond to give us what we need to race and be successful.”

STSS SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25-LAPS – $2,000 TO WIN – CHAD EDWARDS, Payton Talbot, Will Shields, Tucker O’Connor, Michael Sabia, Jeremiah Munson, Troy Palmer, Tim Hartman Jr., Brian Borst, Tanner Warner, Jeffrey Gallup, Corey Cormier, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Jeremy Tyrell, Chip Constantino, Kevin Crave, David Manchester, Scott McCoy, Brian Calabrese, Brendan Gibbons, Tyler Peet, Dale Welty, Hunter Lapp, Cody Clark, Tim Dwyer, Troy Zilles, Michael Ballestero, Brett Mortensen, Aaron Burton, Mark Mortensen DNS

LAP LEADERS – 1-17 Sabia, 18-25 Edwards

HEAT RACE WINNERS – O’Connor, Borst, Cormier, Clark, Manchester, Palmer

CONSOLATION RACE WINNERS – Brett Mortensen, Shields, Hohensheldt

DID NOT QUALIFY – Carter Gibbons, Jason Reome, Michael McCallion, Taylor LaPlante, Aaron Jacobs, James McIntosh, Willy Decker Jr., Jeremy Slosek, Maverick Eldridge, Nikki Ouellette, Ricky Quick, Rich Eggers, Walt Hammond Jr., Michael Wagner-Fitzgerald, David Hackett Jr., Billy Eggers, Karl Barnes, Kyle Dingman, Stephen Gray, Peter Carlotto, Lance Hill, Zach Dufel, Travis Green, Clayton DuMond, John Santolin, Ron Proctor, Walter J Hammond, Butch Wilcox, Griffen Mansmith, Walter Cook, Wesley Sutliff

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: