Meltz Wins DIRTcar Pro Stock Feature At Albany-Saratoga In Dramatic Finish; Parodi Takes Ltd. Sportsman

Story By: TOM BOGGIE / ALBANY-SARATOGA SPEEDWAY – MALTA, NY – Saturday evening at the Albany-Saratoga Speedway, Jason Meltz won the 30-lap DIRTcar Pro Stock Series race in a finish that was even more dramatic then the Super DIRTcar Series Modified 100.

Early in the race, Luke Horning waged a battle with the Crane brothers, Chris and Rich, who had started second and fourth, with Chris Crane leading the parade.

After a rash of cautions, the leaders got down to some serious racing, and on lap 18, Rich Crane got around Horning for second. But Horning quickly regained the No. 2 spot, and moved into the lead when Chris Crane slowed to a stop on lap 19.

Meltz, who started third, jumped into second when Chris Crane slowed and took the lead away from Horning on lap 25. But two laps later, Horning was back in front, setting the stage for a wild finish.

Meltz and Horning were side-by-side as they took the white flag and stayed on the final circuit. But as they went through the fourth turn, they made heavy contact, with Horning spinning out in front of the field, while Meltz charged to the finish line. Horning slid down the track into the path of Jay Casey, who slammed into the rear of Horning’s car, went into a violent flip and wound up on his wheels in front of the billboards on the frontstretch.

After DIRTcar officials ruled the incident was a racing accident, Meltz got the win, with Rob Yetman second, and Nick Stone third. Rich Crane and Scott Towslee completed the top five.

Chad Jeseo won the Michael’s Automotive Dash for Cash, which was worth $250.

The final event of the 2021 season was the 30-lap limited sportsman feature, with Mike Parodi getting the victory and taking home the top prize of $1,000.

Parodi started on the outside pole, but had to hold off a late challenge from Justin Lilly to chalk up the victory. Dylan Madsen, Taylor Wason and 2021 champion Bryce Breault completed the top five.

Michael’s Automotive also sponsored the limited sportsman dash, with Phil Arnold getting the $250 bonus.

DIRTCAR PRO STOCK SERIES: JASON MELTZ, Rob Yetman, Nick Stone, Rich Crane, Scott Towslee, Chuck Dumblewski, Zach Seyerlein, Chad Jeseo, Justin White, Jay Fitzgerald, Ivan Joslin, Brian Carter, Dave Stickles, Ken Griffen, Shane Henderson, Jeff Meltz Sr., Ian Bressett, Doug Sheely, Luke Horning, Jay Casey, Jason Casey, Burton Ward, Jordan Modiano, Chris Crane, Mike Baker, Jimmy Eaton, Josh Coonradt.

LIMITED SPORTSMAN: MIKE PARODI, Justin Lilly, Dylan Madsen, Taylor Wason, Bryce Breault, Mike Arnold, Dan Seguin, Mark Burch, Scott Bennett, Jimmy VanZandt, Mike Hill, Shane Powell, Jess Reis, Jon Coon, Bill Dupree, Wade Acker, Steve Burch, Dave Fachini, Kyle Dingman, Brady Cordova, Dakota Green, James Hinman Jr., Chris Crane Jr., Pete Lorenzo, Nick Auspelmyer, Mike Canastra, Nick Arnold, Wesley Sutliff, Hunter Ordway, Phil Arnold.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: