Dozen Short Track SuperNationals’…Dozen Different Mod Winners Heading Into ’21 Edition Oct. 8-9

Story By: CHRIS MOORE / SHORT TRACK SUPER SERIES – AFTON, NY – Lucky 13? For the 13th time, the Short Track SuperNationals takes center stage on Columbus Day weekend, with the picturesque Afton Motorsports Park serving as the host facility.

The Short Track SuperNationals marks the 10th and final round of the Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply North Region on the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco on Friday, Oct. 8 and Saturday, Oct. 9.

There have been 12 different Modified winners in 12 editions of the event.

The Short Track SuperNationals first ran in 2006 at Afton Motorsports Park, with Tillson, N.Y.’s Mike Ricci claiming top honors.

After a two-year hiatus in 2007 and 2008, the Short Track SuperNationals were contested every year from 2009 to 2019, before last year’s addition was thwarted due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Five Mile Point Speedway (Kirkwood, N.Y.), Thunder Mountain Speedway (Center Lisle, N.Y.) and Afton Motorsports Park, located off Interstate 88 in Afton, have all hosted the ‘Short Track SuperNationals’ over the years.

Afton was the host the last time the race was contested, as Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt

Sheppard claimed his first Short Track SuperNationals crown in 2019.

The Short Track SuperNationals – also known as the ‘Working Man’s Race’ – has fallen under Short Track Super Series sanctioning since the STSS was born in 2014.

Masonville, N.Y.’s Shaun Walker claimed the first ever STSS-sanctioned “Working Man’s Race,” topping King Ferry, N.Y.’s Mike Mahaney and North Norwich, N.Y.’s Mitch Gibbs. The win remains Walker’s lone STSS triumph.

Wurtsboro, N.Y.’s Danny Creeden (2015), Ringoes, N.J.’s Ryan Godown (2016), Oxford, N.Y.’s Rusty Smith (2017), and Sheffield, Mass.’s Andy Bachetti (2018) all join Walker and Sheppard as the Short Track Super Series winners of the ‘Working Man’s Race.’

Bachetti’s triumph in 2018 came in the only Short Track SuperNationals weekend to take place at Thunder Mountain Speedway.

From 2009 to 2013, the Short Track SuperNationals took place at Five Mile Point Speedway as a non-sanctioned event.

Boyertown, Pa.’s Kevin Hirthler (2009), White Lake, N.Y.’s Justin Holland (2010), Oley, Pa.’s Duane Howard (2011), Cottekill, N.Y.’s Danny Tyler (2012), and Johnstown, N.Y.’s Craig Hanson (2013) all claimed ‘Working Man’s Race’ glory at the Kirkwood, N.Y., facility.

STSS sanctioning returns for the 13th running of the “Working Man’s Race” on Short Track SuperNationals weekend at Afton Motorsports Park.

It all kicks off on Friday, October 8 as the CRSA Sprint Cars, Open & Crate 602 Sportsman, and the Empire State Slingshots join STSS Modified timed hot laps and the American Racer Cup Sportsman One-on-One Match races.

On Saturday October 9, the STSS crowns its champions, as the Modifieds and Crate 602 Sportsman of the tour are joined by the Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series to round out the weekend. American Racer Cup Modified One-on-One Match Races are also on the card.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: