Utica-Rome Speedway’s Set For A Busy 2022; Schedule Of Events Showcases Diversity For Racers & Fans

Story By: CHRIS MOORE / UTICA-ROME SPEEDWAY – VERNON, NY – Just getting started.  Year No. 2 for BD Motorsports Media LLC at Utica-Rome Speedway is coming into focus.

Weekly racing continues Friday nights under the leadership of promoter Brett Deyo and general managers Jamie and Denise Page.

The 2022 schedule is in place with 21 races in total and one weekend Monster Truck show.

Featured weekly divisions: Modifieds, Crate 602 Sportsman, Pro Stocks, Limited Sportsman and Four Cylinders. The Slingshots (All-Stars & Juniors) will compete as noted on the schedule utilizing the inner oval.

Must-see events:

  • The inaugural ‘Honoring Alex’ event for the Modifieds opens the season on April 29 with a $6,800 payday on the line in honor of Alex Friesen (rain date: May 1)
  • Two visits from the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco (Thursday, July 21 & Sunday, Sept. 4, the latter of which pays $25,000 to win)
  • The FloRacing All-Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Cars return on Saturday, Aug. 20
  • The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) on two occasions (May 13 & August 5)
  • A Monster Truck Racing League “Monster Truck Madness” weekend on Saturday-Sunday Sept. 10 & 11
  • Season finale ‘Ultimate Outlaw 50’ and the ‘Cole Cup’ for the Patriot Sprint Tour on Tuesday, Oct. 4

Other events to highlight:

The Thunder on the Thruway six-race mini-series between Utica-Rome Speedway and Fonda (N.Y.) Speedway is back in the ’22 season for the Modifieds, Crate 602 Sportsman and Pro Stocks. The three Utica-Rome Thunder on the Thruway events take place on June 3, July 1 and Aug. 20.

Utica-Rome Speedway welcomes Sprint Cars (ESS, Patriot Sprint Tour & CRSA) to the Route 5 oval seven times in the ’22 season (May 13, June 17, June 24, July 15, Aug. 5, Aug. 20 & Oct. 4).

Friday, July 8 brings ‘Fan Favorite’ to the Vernon half-mile facility as the Modifieds will run Twin 20s with no increase in admission.

Speaking of fan favorites, June 10 see’s the return of $5 Friday. Grandstand admission will be just $5 for a full night of racing.

The Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series makes two appearances in ’22 on May 27 & August 26.

Championship Night for takes place on Sept. 2.

The speedway opens for the first time on April 22 with an open practice for all divisions. April 24 is the rain date for the open practice.

Weekly grandstand admission is $12 for Adults, $10 for Seniors (ages 65 & up) and Kids 11 & Under get in FREE with increases for special events as noted.

Weekly pit admission is $30 for Utica-Rome Speedway Members and $35 for Non-Members with increases for special events as noted.

2022 Utica-Rome Speedway Schedule of Events

Friday, April 22 – Open Practice (Rain Date: Sunday, April 24)

Friday, April 29 – “Honoring Alex” Season Opener – Modifieds $6,800 to win in memory of Alex Friesen – All divisions (points begin) – Rain Date: Sunday, May 1*

Friday, May 6 – Pro Stocks $1,000 to win – All divisions plus Slingshots

Friday, May 13 – Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) 360 Sprint Cars – All divisions*

Friday, May 20 – Crate 602 Sportsman $1,500 to win (30 laps) – All divisions plus Slingshots

Friday, May 27 – All divisions plus Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Racing Series

Friday, June 3 – Thunder on the Thruway Series Modifieds $4,000 to win, Crate 602 Sportsman $1,500 to win & Pro Stocks $1,000 to win – All divisions plus Slingshots*

Friday, June 10 – $5 Friday: Grandstand Admission just $5 – All divisions plus Slingshots

Friday, June 17 – A-Verdi Storage Containers Patriot Sprint Tour (PST) 360 Sprint Cars*

Friday, June 24 – All divisions plus CRSA Sprint Cars*

Friday, July 1 – Parks Companies Night – Thunder on the Thruway Series Modifieds $4,000 to win, Crate 602 Sportsman $1,500 to win & Pro Stocks $1,000 to win – All divisions plus Fireworks*

Friday, July 8 – “Fan Favorite” Modified Twin 20s $1,500 to win each – All divisions plus Slingshots – No increase in admission!

Friday, July 15 – Westmoreland Golf Club Night – All divisions plus CRSA Sprint Cars*

Thursday, July 21 – Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco ‘Richie Evans Remembered 61’ – STSS Modifieds 61 laps, $6,100 to win, $610 to start plus STSS Crate 602 Sportsman 30 laps, $2,061 to win* (25 show-up points for both divisions)

Friday, July 29 – All divisions plus Slingshots

Friday, August 5 – Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) 360 Sprint Cars – All divisions*

Friday, August 12 – ‘Dog Days of Summer’ Modifieds $3,500 to win – All divisions plus Slingshots

Saturday, August 20 – FloRacing All-Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Cars plus Thunder on the Thruway Series Modifieds $4,000 to win, Crate 602 Sportsman $1,500 to win & Pro Stocks $1,000 to win* (Thunder on the Thruway points only, no track points)

Friday, August 26 – All divisions plus Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Racing Series

Friday, September 2 – Championship Night – All divisions plus Slingshots

Sunday, September 4 – New Yorker 50 – Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco – Halmar International ‘Elite’ Event – $25,000 to win, $1,000 for 16th, $500 to start – $80,000 total purse plus Pro Stocks $1,000 to win & Limited Sportsman $500 to win*

Saturday, September 10 & Sunday, September 11 – Monster Truck Racing League (MTRL) presents “Monster Truck Madness”

Monster Trucks & Free Style Motocross – Two Complete Shows*

Tuesday, October 4 – ‘Ultimate Outlaw 50’ Modifieds & Patriot Sprint Tour (PST) 360 Sprint Cars Cole Cup & Crate 602 Sportsman*

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: