Column: WoO Cotton Bowl Notebook: Brad Sweet’s Podium Streak Snapped; Pittman Subs For Kahne

Column By: BRIAN WALKER / WORLD OF OUTLAWS – PAIGE, TX – Brad Sweet’s five-for-five record of never missing the podium at Cotton Bowl was snapped on Saturday, as the defending Series champion finished seventh in the Kasey Kahne Racing, NAPA Auto Parts #49.

2013 World of Outlaws champion Daryn Pittman returned to competition on Saturday, substituting for former boss Kasey Kahne in the same #9 car he won his title with. The new Texas resident and owner of UltraShield Products finished 22nd after transferring from the Last Chance Showdown.

Sam Hafertepe Jr. became the fifth driver in five races to earn the Slick Woody’s QuickTime Award, bringing the driver of the #15H to a total of 15 QuickTimes in his World of Outlaws career. He circled Cotton Bowl in 13.612 seconds.

NOS Energy Drink Heat Race wins went to Hafertepe Jr. (48th career), Kraig Kinser (122nd career), and Jacob Allen (36th career). Hafertepe Jr. kept his perfect night alive with a DIRTVision Fast Pass Dash victory as well.

Carson Macedo (Lemoore, CA) is now tied with Brad Doty (Apple Creek, OH) at 18 career World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series victories, ranking 31st on the All-Time Win List.

Of Macedo’s 18 victories, Cotton Bowl Speedway is the 13th different track he’s won at and Texas is the 12th different state he’s won in. His four laps are also tied for the least amount he’s ever led in any World of Outlaws win.

Ayrton Gennetten (Versailles, MO) completed a weekend sweep of the MicroLite Last Chance Showdown, winning both Friday and Saturday races in his #3.

Tanner Thorson (15th) and Daryn Pittman (22nd) both qualified for their first World of Outlaws Feature of the 2022 season.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: