All Stars Sprints Set To Invade Michigan & Ohio For Three-Race Swing This Weekend

Story By: TYLER ALTMEYER / ALL STAR CIRCUIT OF CHAMPIONS – BROWNSBURG, IN – The Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 will activate their May slate with a three-race swing through Michigan and Ohio, launching the weekend tripleheader with a visit to I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan, on Friday, May 13.

Dubbed the Mace Thomas Classic, the one night stand will award an $8,5000 payday – the first and only Michigan appearance for “America’s Series” during the 2022 season.

The traveling All Stars battled at I-96 twice a season ago with “Sunshine” Tyler Courtney and Rudeen Racing’s Cory Eliason each earning a trip to victory lane. Courtney’s victory occurred during last year’s Mace Thomas Classic, also awarding an $8,500 payday.

Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio, will be next on the hit list with a visit set for Saturday, May 14, replacing the originally scheduled stop in Joliet, Illinois. Known for its elbows-up attitude and bullring action, Wayne County, awarding $6,000 on Saturday night, will host the All Star Circuit of Champions twice during the 2022 season with the second occurring during Ohio Sprint Speedweek on Monday, June 13. The lone visit to “Orrville’s Historic Oval” in 2021 was captured by NASCAR Cup Series champion, Kyle Larson, outrunning Zeb Wise and Paul McMahan for a $6,000 Speedweek payday.

From one Wayne to the next, Waynesfield Raceway Park in Waynesfield, Ohio, will cap the weekend tripleheader with an All Star program on Sunday, May 15. Originally slated for Sunday, May 1, but rescheduled due to Mother Nature, the visit Waynesfield’s highbanks will award a $6,000 prize, giving teams an opportunity to test their limits before returning the western Ohio bullring during Ohio Sprint Speedweek. America’s Series made two appearances at Waynesfield Raceway Park in 2021 with Kyle Larson and Cole Duncan each earning one triumph.

“Sunshine” Tyler Courtney will lead the All Stars into battle during the coming weekend as the current championship points leader. The Indianapolis, Indiana, native and ace of the Clauson Marshall Racing No. 7BC sits on top of the title chase with a 24-point lead over Sam McGhee Motorsports’ Parker Price-Miller. Courtney owns two point-earning victories on the season, sweeping the Attica Spring Nationals over Easter weekend to launch his title defense.

Price-Miller, who is currently seven for seven in point-earning top-ten finishes in 2022, as well as the owner of one Dixie Fast Time Award, sits just ahead of Cap Henry, Justin Peck, and Bill Balog in the championship standings. Hunter Schuerenberg, Zeb Wise, Cory Eliason, Kyle Reinhardt, and Tim Shaffer round out the top-ten.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: