Can Nick Stone Be Stopped In Pro Stocks At Fonda Speedway? Wins Sixth In-A-Row Saturday

Story By: RON SZCZERBA / FONDA SPEEDWAY – FONDA, NY – Luke Horning led the $1,000 to win Algonkin Motel Pro Stock feature Saturday night at Fonda Speedway from his pole position start with Kenny Gates second after starting alongside Horning on the front row.

The first of many yellow flags was out on lap five with 11th place starter Nick Stone getting up to the fourth position on the restart.

At the halfway point in the event Horning led followed by Gates, sixth place starter Beau Ballard, Stone, and Chuck Dumblewski. Four yellow flags followed in the final laps of the event with Stone utilizing each one of them to his advantage to get to the front. Stone was second on a lap 14 restart and two laps later took the lead away from Horning with a move on the inside of turns three and four.

Stone survived a yellow flag on the final lap and went on to his sixth win in six events at Fonda in 2022 in the Todd Hoffman owned #8N followed by Horning, Ballard, Gates, and Gary Silkey.

“I got under Luke, and it was either hitting the yuke tire or his door, I chose the door,” Stone said after the win. “I get burned out with work and you get busy at home, and it affects your racing. If it wasn’t for Todd (car owner Todd Hoffman) and my crew, I would probably be racing my own car with half the maintenance, and I wouldn’t be where I am now.”

A redraw set the starting lineup for the Swagger factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman 25-lap $1,500 to win feature event with Cody Clark taking the early lead from his pole position start. The yellow flag was out with no laps completed for Tanner Warner and Kurtis Hohensheldt who were in the backstretch wall. Both were done for the night at that point.

Clark led the original restart with Tim Dwyer in tow while eighth place starter Chad Edwards got by both Brett and Mark Mortensen for the third position. Clark held a straightaway advantage by lap four with sixth place starter Payton Talbot getting by Edwards for the third position. A yellow flag on lap eight slowed the field when Clayton DuMond suffered a broken right rear shock.

Thirteenth place starter Brian Calabrese moved into the top five on the restart and next he got by Edwards for the fourth position on lap ten. Clark was in lap traffic on lap 18 and made a great three wide move in turn two to get by two lap cars on the outside and give himself a little breathing room. On the final lap with Joe Kriss ready to wave the checkered flag, he had to quickly change to the yellow flag when Troy Zilles and Brent Cross slowed on track.

Clark held on for his second win of the season and the 15th of his career in the division in the Upstate Motorsports #4 DKM car followed by Talbot, Calabrese, Edwards, and Dwyer.

“I was very fortunate we drew the pole for tonight,” Clark said in victory lane. “The first half of the race the car felt real good, I moved up to the top in turns one and two and then the caution came out and I was nervous about who was behind me. But once we got logging laps again, I moved back up to the top. I tried the top in turns three and four, but it wasn’t good for our car tonight and then the late race caution with one to go I was looking at the checkered flag and you don’t want to hear my words then.”

“All in all, tonight was a good night,” Clark continued to say. “Everybody has to tweak on their cars to try to make them better, so we’ll just keep trying to get it better and better and hopefully we can keep getting back to victory lane. We are still missing a little something and we got to try to get it right.”

Connor Prokop led the first seven laps of the 15-lap Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman feature until Zach Dufel took over the lead on the inside of turns one and two on lap eight. After wrecking hard, the week before and taking down the caution light in turn one, the crew got the car back together for this week with Dufel leading the remaining laps for his second win of the season followed by Tom D’Angelo, Bob Rowback, Mike Arnold, and Craig Wholley.

Ken and Kerrie Hollenback continued their dominance in the Fonda Fair Four Cylinders with victories in the SOHC and DOHC classes respectively as they finished one and two yet again with Chris Hall, Zach Bleau, and Todd Morey completing the top five.

Next Saturday, June 4 all divisions will be in action along with the CRSA Sprint Cars. Gates will open at 4:00 p.m. followed by Hot Laps at 6:00 p.m. and racing at 7:00 p.m.

If you are a race fan that gets to the track early, be sure to check out the Fonda Speedway Museum & Hall of Fame which is located on the Fonda Fairgrounds at the rear of the parking area going down towards turn four. The museum is open from 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on race days and admission is free!

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK FEATURE – 20-laps – $1,000 TO WIN – NICK STONE, Luke Horning, Beau Ballard, Kenny Gates, Gary Silkey, Jason Morrison, Chuck Dumblewski, Zach Sorrentino, Ivan Joslin, Kyle Hoard, Caden Dumblewski, Ken Griffen, John Holmes, Jennifer Collins, Shane Playford, Randy Cosselman, Josh Coonradt, Devon Camenga

6th win of 2022, 6 in a row, and the 65th win of his career in the division for Stone

LAP LEADERS – 1-15 Horning, 16-20 Stone


SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25-laps – $1,500 TO WIN – CODY CLARK, Payton Talbot, Brian Calabrese, Chad Edwards, Tim Dwyer, Brett Mortensen, Greg Havlichek, Chip Constantino, Dan Santabarbara, Troy Palmer, Michael McCallion, Jeremy Tyrrell, Jason Reome, Kevin Chaffee, Stephen Gray, Troy Zilles, Tony Farone, Carter Gibbons, Willy Decker Jr., David Hackett Jr., Taylor LaPlante, Griffen Mansmith, Brent Cross, Mark Mortensen, Clayton DuMond, Tanner Warner, Kurtis Hohensheldt

2nd win of 2022 and the 15th win of his career in the division for Clark

LAP LEADERS – 1-25 Clark

HEAT RACE WINNERS – Dwyer, Mark Mortensen, Havlichek, Edwards


DID NOT QUALIFY – Gerard LeClair, Jeff Gallup, Cory White, Brendan Gibbons, Harry Shaffer

GRECO’S NAPA HARD CHARGER AWARD – Reome gained 13 positions


MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 15-laps – ZACH DUFEL, Tom D’Angelo, Bob Rowback, Mike Arnold, Craig Wholley, Walter Cook, Lance Hill, Michael Kalkbrenner, Gus Kamburelis, Timmy Wilmot, Connor Prokop, Wesley Sutliff, Ryan Sweet, Joe McSpirit, Kyle Dingman, Josh Kane, Mark Lighthall (DNS), Harold Robitaille (DNS), Russ Farr (DNS), Josh LeClaire (DNS), Nate Bedell (DNS), John Cole (DNS)

2nd win of 2022 and the 2nd win of his career in the division for Dufel

LAP LEADERS – 1-7 Prokop, 8-15 Dufel

HEAT RACE WINNERS – Prokop, Lighthall


FONDA FAIR FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE – 12-laps – KEN HOLLENBACK (SOHC), KERRIE HOLLENBACK (DOHC), Chris Hall, Zach Bleau, Todd Morey, TJ Marlitt, Wayne Russell Jr., Christopher Jennings Sr., Gina Voris, Zach McSpirit

6th win of 2022 and the 74th win of his career in the division for Ken Hollenback

4th win of 2022 and the 26th win of his career in the division for Kerrie Hollenback

LAP LEADERS – 1-12 Ken Hollenback

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: