Tim Fuller Takes Second In-A-Row On Friday Night At Can-Am Speedway

Story By: ADAM CORNELL / CAN-AM SPEEDWAY – LAFARGEVILLE, NY – After a great midweek showing in the DIRTcar Big Block series race as part of the Thunder in the Thousand Islands event, Tim Fuller of Watertown, New York parked his St. Lawrence Radiology number 19 in victory lane for the second week in a row in the Whitesboro Plow Shop DIRTcar 358 Modified series feature race at Can-Am Speedway, Friday night.

Like last week, Fuller started back in the pack for the feature, having to overcome a 12th starting position to get to the lead for the victory. It took Fuller until lap 16 of the 25-lap race to wrest possession of the lead away from Ryan Bartlett of Adams, New York. Bartlett was able to hang on to a second-place finish at the checkered flag, but for Fuller, win number two in the 358 Modified division gives him a strong lead in track points heading into the Memorial Day Weekend break.

“I’m very fortunate to be in a good car,” Fuller said from victory lane, when interviewed by Can-Am track announcer, Tim Baltz. “It’s working very well. It’s not going to work out every time like this, but I will take any win.”

In the Bob Johnson Auto Group DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature, it was Tyler Stevenson, of Watertown, New York, in the Fox28 yellow and blue hot rod who took the checkered flag with a win on Friday night.

“Last week we were fast, this week we only made a few changes and man we made it! I’m really happy!” Stevenson said from victory lane. Stevenson took over the lead in lap 7 of the feature and had to fend off several caution restarts to retain control of the race.

Each week this season the Panther Frameworx Sprint Car division has added competitors creating a compelling and fun-to-watch new addition to the racing action at Can-Am Speedway. Josh Verne Jr., of Theresa, New York, had to chase down Logan Chrisafulli, of Oswego, New York to take home his second victory in two weeks at Can-Am. Chrisafulli had opened an enormous lead over the rest of the field through the first thirteen laps of the race, but with two laps to go, Verne Jr. had closed the gap and passed up Chrisafulli who got ensnared and slowed with lapped traffic. Verne Jr. was able to go high and pass up both Chrisafulli and the lapped vehicle and take home the win.

“I was just driving the car. I have a lot of guys behind me to support me,” Josh Verne Jr. said, after the race. “I get to do the fun part, they do all the dirty work.”

Describing his decisive pass for the win, Verne Jr. said, “[Chrisafulli] went low on the lapped car and they both let me take the high line and I took it.”

In the Marsha Gibbons TLC Real Estate Thunder Car feature, it was Justin Pope, of Rome, New York, with the victory, his second in two weeks at Can-Am Speedway. During later laps there was a moment of great concern on the track as OJ White’s black and white number 94 began to billow smoke and eventually flames as he slowed through turns one and two. The flames self-extinguished as White came to a stop and climbed from his car.

The close call in Thunder Cars wasn’t the only heart-stopping moment for the night. In the Donath Motor Worx Limited Sportsman feature, there was a violent collision between Joey Wilcox, of Watertown, New York and Holly Denard of Picton, Ontario, when Wilcox got sideways and Denard slammed into the side of his car, the force of the impact flipping Denard’s number 02. The remaining fans held their collective breaths as emergency crews rushed to help right Denard’s car and remove the roof to help her out. She emerged shaken, but okay.

Keegan Nier, of Carthage, New York went on to take the victory in the Donath Motor Worx Limited Sportsman feature, his first of the young season at Can-Am Speedway.

Racing takes a week off at Can-Am Speedway in observance of Memorial Day Weekend. Racing will resume at Can-Am on June 3rd.



1 (25 Laps): 1. 19-Tim Fuller[12]; 2. 39-Ryan Bartlett[6]; 3. 18W-Scott Webb[7]; 4. 9-Tyler Meeks[5]; 5. 49-Billy Dunn[11]; 6. 66W-Derek Webb[9]; 7. 31-Lance Willix[19]; 8. 28-Jordan McCreadie[13]; 9. 38J-Jarrett Herbison[3]; 10. 1-Jack Meeks[4]; 11. 23J-Jeff Sykes[10]; 12. 36B-Dan Beachard[1]; 13. 7S-Shaun Shaw[16]; 14. 74-Lucas Fuller[15]; 15. 21R-RJ Tresidder[2]; 16. 24-Jordan Kelly[20]; 17. 73-Michael Cousins[17]; 18. 21C-Taylor Caprara[8]; 19. 23-Cameron Black[14]; 20. 26-Michael Mandigo[18]; 21. (DNS) 86-Justin Mason.


1 (8 Laps): 1. FOX28-Tyler Stevenson[8]; 2. 410-Mike Fowler[12]; 3. 91-Josh Reome[7]; 4. 18E-Gavin Eisele[9]; 5. 32-Ryan Shanahan[11]; 6. 34-Eric Nier[14]; 7. 64-Tyler Corcoran[15]; 8. 44-David Rogers[19]; 9. 7D-Dustin Hutton[6]; 10. 6-Brian Hudson[16]; 11. 57H-Remington Hamm[21]; 12. 8E-Billy Eisele Jr[2]; 13. 52-Jessica Power[10]; 14. 2X-Michael Amell[5]; 15. 92-Frank Sibley[20]; 16. 35B-Brennan Moore[1]; 17. 10B-Jamie Brown[18]; 18. 62-Jonathan Murphy[4]; 19. 63M-Franklin Mackin[17]; 20. 12S-Kyle Sharp[24]; 21. 271-Tiger Chapman[13]; 22. 621G-Trevor Gibbons[3]; 23. 18-Justin Gadbaw[22]; 24. 76G-Skylar Greenfield[25]; 25. 21-Gage Howard[23].


1 (15 Laps): 1. 1V-Josh Verne Jr[4]; 2. 88-Logan Crisafulli[1]; 3. 4SALE-Tyler Doxtater[5]; 4. 30-Ken Klinkowsky[2]; 5. 39-Jonah Mutton[3]; 6. 77E-Ashton VanEvery[6].


1 (12 Laps): 1. 34-Keegan Nier[4]; 2. 1D-Paul DeRuyter[8]; 3. 17-Owen Nier[7]; 4. 44-Tim Bailey[2]; 5. 2-Steven Tabor[9]; 6. 33-Alan McDonald[11]; 7. 02-Holly Denard[5]; 8. 32-Joe Trichilo[3]; 9. 73-Joey Wilcox[1]; 10. 23-Cole Perry[6]; 11. 66R-Ray Hughto[10].


1 (15 Laps): 1. 27-Justin Pope[8]; 2. 11A-Joe Orvis[7]; 3. 111J-Anthony St Mary Jr[1]; 4. 52J-Justin McIntyre[2]; 5. 100-Charles Monica[6]; 6. X-Travis Berkman[10]; 7. 16-Steve Smith[5]; 8. 31-Austin Smith[9]; 9. 52-Robert Flint[11]; 10. 11J-Justin Burns[3]; 11. 94-OJ White[4]; 12. 22J-Jared Gilson[14]; 13. 60-Francis White[13]

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: