Empire Super Sprints Headline Friday Night’s Show At Ransomville Speedway

Story By: STEVEN PETTY / RANSOMVILLE SPEEDWAY – RANSOMVILLE, NY – The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints will return to the Ransomville Speedway on Friday, June 10 for the Ron Lux Memorial presented by A-Verdi Storage Containers, Hebeler Sales & Service, and Faery’s Concrete.

The Investors Service Sportsman, Ki Po Motors Street Stocks, Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks, and Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman will also be on the card.

Fans can use their rain checks from the Friday, June 3 program for admission for June 10 or June 17. Questions about the rain checks can be answered by calling the speedway office at (716) 791-3602.

Admission for Friday, June 10 is $20 for adults, seniors 60 + and youth aged 12-17 is $17 and kids 11 and under are FREE. Pit admission is $35 for members and $40 for non-members. Pit gates will open at 5 pm, with grandstands opening at 6 pm and racing will begin at 7:15 pm.

A legend in Western New York auto racing, Ron Lux was able to win on both the dirt and asphalt. In 1965, Lux won the Oswego Speedway Supermodified points title, including winning five straight features and a total of 12 during that season. Back in the day, Lux also raced under the pseudonym of Bucky Buckholtz and Bob Hodgson as he was trying to avoid suspension from USAC, which during that time frame did not permit their drivers to race in non-USAC events. In 1965, following his fourth straight feature win at Oswego, Lux revealed his identity. Ron won the Orange County Eastern States 100 dirt Modified race in 1965, beating the finest competition that division had to offer. He also set fast time for the first asphalt Langhorne National Open modified (Race of Champions) event in 1965. He died in a USAC sprinter at Tulsa, OK in July of 1966.

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints returned to Ransomville in September of 2021, with “The Cobra” Chuck Hebing picking up the victory. Prior to last season, Steve Dow won the last ESS race at “The Big R” in 2000. Other winners include Lance Yonge in 1994 and 1996, Craig Keel in 1994 and 1995, Phil Mott in April of 1995, Tom Taber in 1991 and 1993, John Birosh sweeping both races in 1992 and winning in August of 1990, George Suprick III in August of 1991, Mike VanDusen in 1989 and 1988, and Gordy Button winning the inaugural visit back in 1986.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: