Fonda Speedway Welcomes CRSA Sprints Saturday; Regular Card On Tap For All Divisions

Story By: RON SZCZERBA / FONDA SPEEDWAY – FONDA, NY – This Saturday, June 4 the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway presents another exciting racing program in all regular divisions along with the first appearance of the CRSA Sprint Cars in 2022. Gates open to the speedway at 4:00 p.m. with hot laps at 6:00 p.m. and racing at 7:00 p.m.

Regular divisions competing with the CRSA Sprints this Saturday at Fonda include the Sunoco Modifieds, the Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman, The Algonkin Motel Pro Stocks, the Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman, and the Fonda Fair Four Cylinders.

Last year in 2021 the CRSA Sprints made three appearances at Fonda with Josh Flint, Mike Kiser, and Jordan Hutton winning those events. For both Flint and Hutton, it was their first career wins in the division at Fonda. After all events were completed last season Jeff Trombley was crowned the 2021 CRSA Sprint Car Champion and to add a little history to that Trombley also has two Track Championships at Fonda in the Modified division back in 2001 and 2002.

After one cancelled event and two rain outs to begin the 2022 racing season, the CRSA Sprints were able to open the season at the Weedsport Speedway last Sunday, May 29 with Billy VanInwegen the winner followed in the top five by Darryl Ruggles, Bobby Parrow, Trombley, and Alysha Bay. The event at Fonda on Saturday will be the second event of the 2022 season for the CRSA Sprints with $1,000 going to the feature event winner.

The CRSA Sprint Car organization started racing at the Fonda Speedway back in 2009 and through their last event of the 2021 season at Fonda last September they have run a total of 24 events at Fonda with 13 different drivers winning those events.

Danny Varin and Mike Kiser lead the way with four CRSA Sprint car wins at Fonda followed by Josh Pieniazek and Cory Sparks who both have three career wins at Fonda. Kyle Smith is a two-time CRSA Sprint winner at Fonda with single event wins going to Trombley, Dylan Swiernik, John Matrafailo, Tyler Rice, Jordan Thomas, Brett Jaycox, Josh Flint, and Jordan Hutton.

A reminder to all of the Fonda Speedway drivers that the New York State Stock Car Association (NYSSCA) will hold their annual Safety Night at Fonda on Saturday, June 11. On that evening the first NYSSCA member to cross the finish line in each of the five regular division feature events will receive $75 while the second NYSSCA member to cross the finish line will receive $50 and the Wildcard winner will receive $50. All winners will also be awarded a NYSSCA hat.

To become a member of the NYSSCA organization you can see Fonda Speedway NYSSCA representative Bonnie Mortensen who will be going through the pit area to sign up new members both this Saturday, June 4 and next Saturday, June 11. The cost of a NYSSCA membership is $25 per year.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: