RPW Column: Danny Tyler Makes Repeat Trip To Accord Speedway’s Victory Lane Friday

Column By: MIKE TRAVERSE / RPW – ACCORD, NY – Danny Tyler won his second-straight and his third of the season at Accord Speedway Friday night, and he did it the hard way, running the last 26 laps of the race with a left front flat.

But it was a bittersweet win for Tyler as he learned earlier in the evening that a family member had passed away.

“After the heat race, we got a call that my cousin Wayne had passed away. He would come with us every week, so he was riding with us tonight,” Danny said.

Randy Green led the first 4 laps as a caution halted action. Daniel Morgiewicz Jr. went to the lead on lap 6 with 7th starting Tyler racing up into 2nd. Morgiewicz Jr., running well in the high groove, held off Tyler until lap 10 when Danny took the lead. Jerry Higbie moved into 2nd on lap 12 and he kept the pressure on Tyler. Rich Ricci Jr. passed Morgiewicz for 3rd on lap 20, but he pulled into the infield on lap 22. battling the flat, Tyler was able to nurse his car to the finish. At the checkers, it was Tyler by 1.7 seconds over Higbie with Morgiewicz Jr. 3rd, Jimmy Wells 4th and Green 5th. Joe Judge was 6th, Ken Ferrier 7th, Danny Creeden 8th, Brett Graham 9th and Mark Pullen 10th.

“On an early restart, like lap 4 or 5, I clipped the inside barrier and I flattened the left front. It was a handful to drive after that,” Tyler said.

It was Tyler’s 18th career win at Accord.

Jimmy Johnson became the first repeat winner in the Sportsman division with a well-earned victory Friday night, just edging Tyler Johnston.

Johnson got the jump on Jared LaBagh at the start, but he was never able to put much distance between himself and LaBagh. Jared was constantly challenging in the low groove, but Johnson held firm. With the race 2/3rds complete, Johnston started to make his move. He moved from 5th on lap to take 2nd from LaBagh on lap 21. Johnston was able to get up alongside Johnson, but the veteran driver was running well in the high groove. After a side-by-side battle on the last lap, Johnson got just enough of a run to finish .15 seconds ahead of Johnston. LaBagh finished 3rd. Kevin Stevens 4th and Cody Higbie 5th. The balance of the top 10 were Travis Green 6th, Jared Miller 7th, Aidan Elliott 8th, Scott Zehnacker 9th and Brady Cordova 10th.

After the initial start was negated by a caution, defending Accord Speedway Pure Stock Champion, Walt Henry, took the lead and led all the way to take Friday’s feature. It was Henry’s first win of the season. Joe Narok moved into 2nd early on and kept it close, but Henry was never seriously challenged for the lead in this one. JB Morris finished 3rd with Jayden Sleight 4th and Gary Ronk 5th. John Hechinger suffered mechanical problems in his heat. But he picked up a ride in Wayne Taylor’s #58 and finished 6th. Brian Walsh was 7th, James Goetschius 8th, George Van Ardsall 9th and Hank Morin 10th.

Amber Baccaglini was the winner Friday in the All Star Slingshots, her 3rd win of the season. Ashley Rogosich, also a 3 time winner, was 2nd followed by Alex McCann 3rd, Sophia Spear 4th and Rob Charmello 5th.

Christofer Tittle won the Junior Slingshots with Bodie Marks 2nd and EJ Hatch 3rd.

Jeff DeGroat was the Fireball 4 Cylinder winner Friday over Robert Beach in 2nd, Richard Smith 3rd, Ryan Heady 4th and George Barringer 5th.

And closing out the busy night at Accord saw Tommy Marshall come away with the Rookie Sportsman win. Cody Cordova was 2nd, Leif Holmgren 3rd, Thor Holmgren 4th and Darryl Collins 5th.

It was a huge holiday weekend crowd at Accord Speedway on Friday and they were treated to an outstanding fireworks show at intermission. Much thanks goes out to Dan’s Towing of Kingston and Rosendale, NY.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: