Garrett Poland Wins Sunday Night’s DIRTcar Sportsman Main At Glen Ridge Motorsports Park

Story By: TOBY LAGRANGE / GLEN RIDGE MOTORSPORTS PARK – FULTONVILLE, NY – Coming into Sunday night’s racing action at the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park, young gun Garrett Poland had yet to put his New Day Motors number 17g in victory lane. When all was said and done on west End Towing and Repair Night not only did the New Baltimore, New York driver pick up that elusive first win of the season but he did so in convincing fashion.

Poland dominated the GRMP Hall of Fame Classic 40 for the Red Chair DIRTcar Sportsman division. The entire 40 laps were run under green with Poland picking up the win over Ricky Quick, Justin Buff, Andrew Buff and Cody Ochs. The heat races were won by Tony Farone and Poland.

Another young gun in DIRTcar competition at The Ridge landed in victory lane in the Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro Stock division. Slater Baker picked up win number two of the season in the 20-lap event. Baker crossed the line in front of Johnny Rivers, Ivan Joslin, Luke Horning and Steve Cosselman. The heat races were won by Baker and Chuck McSpirit.

Butchie Irwin claimed his sixth checkered flag of the season in the Cherko-Fusco Realty Limited Sportsman division. Irwin picked up the win over Mike Hill, Jonathan Feagles, Jeffrey Bobilin and John Cole. The heat races were won by Irwin and Lucas Duncan.

The Northeast Paving and Sealcoat All-Star Slingshot division raced for $500 Sunday night. Track co-promoter Ray Sefrin issued a challenge to the division…bring at least 20 cars and we will pay $500 to win. A total of 22 drivers entered the event with Nathaniel Boesse picking up the win and the $500 top prize. Kirstin Swartz finished second with Kolton Weiler third, Adam Fusco fourth and Joe Melius fifth.

In the Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshot division Jaden Pierce picked up the win. Defending track champion Sloan Cherko finished second with Connor Crane third, Bodie Marks fourth and Carson Hamlin fifth.

In other action Matt Mosher picked up the win in the Street Stock division while Jay Ingersoll (Single Cam) and Gina Voris (Dual Cam) claimed the DIRTcar Mini Stock feature event wins.

During intermission the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park Hall of Fame inducted their Class of 2022. This years inductees include Bob Lansing, Danny Ballard, Frank Blanchard, John and Georgie Constantino and the Demitraszek family. A separate release will be forthcoming for the Hall of Fame.

The Glen Ridge Motorsports Park returns to action this Sunday night, September 4th with a regular DIRTcar Sunday Night program. It will be New Deals Used Cars Night with all weekly divisions in action. The Pit Gates open at 3PM, Grandstands at 4PM, Hot Laps at 5:30 PM with racing set to start at 6PM.


DIRTcar Racing 602 Sportsman: Garrett Poland, Ricky Quick, Justin Buff, Andrew Buff, Cody Ochs, Derrick McGrew Jr., Carter Gibbons, Ted Teal, Kathy Bellen, Stephen Gray, Tony Farone, Zach Buff.

DIRTcar Racing Pro-Stocks: Slater Baker, Johnny Rivers, Ivan Joslin, Luke Horning, Steve Cosselman, Chuck McSpirit, Shawn Perez Jr., Richard Spencer, Doug Sheely, Brian Carter, Ken Allen, Kyle Weiler, Jay Fitzgerald.

Limited Sportsman: Butchie Irwin, Mike Hill, Jonathan Feagles, Jeffrey Bobilin, John Cole, Joe Smith, Ben Balzer, Lucas Duncan, James Hinman Jr.

Street Stocks: Matt Mosher, Adam Tranka, Matt Wells, Jennah Perez, Dominique Denue (DNS).

DIRTcar Racing Single Cam Mini Stock: Jay Ingersol, Wayne Russel Jr, John Ray, Blaze Post.

DIRTcar Racing Dual Cam Mini Stock: Gina Voris, Bill Hillman, Jordan Ryder, Brian Blank, Jamie Warner, Jason Peck, Kevin Aucomdaugh, Chad Hoffman.

All-Star Slingshots $500/win: Nathaniel Boesse, Kirsten Swartz, Kolton Weiler, Adam Fusco, Joe Melius, Corky Warner, Dan Ballard, Spencer Cherko, Chris Darrow, Lucas Duncan, A.J. Albreada, T.J. Hughes, Dave Viall, Sloan Cherko, Scott Sprague, Aaron Bodian, Brian Nelson, Alexandrine Boisvert, Jim Pollard, Chase Moran, Kyle Dingman, Tavien Blowers.

Junior Slingshots: Jaden Pierce, Sloan Cherko, Conner Crane, Bodie Marks, Carson Hamlin, Preston Trautschold, Blake Patrick, Wyatt Wilmot, Izzy Pangman, Maddy Broedel, E.J. Hatch, Braxton Martin, Kaylan Digsby, Colton White, Addy Pangman, Jayden Wust, Cole Conrad, Easton Conrad.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: