Richard Petty, David Pearson, Junior Johnson Among Fonda 200 Pioneers Since 1955

Story By: ANDREW REIGEL / FONDA SPEEDWAY – FONDA, NY – Some things never change.  Fonda Speedway – one of the most historic dirt tracks in the country – hosts its marquee event Thursday-Saturday Sept. 15-17 with the annual ‘Fonda 200’ weekend.

The ‘200’ dates back to 1955 and has evolved from its origin with the NASCAR Grand National Series to the current Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco sanction.

One aspect remains the same: drivers and fans flocking to the Village of Fonda for the ‘200’ weekend.

Many of the sport’s most iconic names have etched their names in the ‘Fonda 200’ record books.

Brett Hearn leads all drivers with four ‘Fonda 200’ victories. The late Doug Hoffman boasts three wins in the 100-mile grind.

Six drivers have earned a pair of ‘200’ victories: Richard Petty, Jimmy Horton, Jack Johnson, Charlie Rudolph, Bob McCreadie and Stewart Friesen.

Friesen is the defending champion of the ‘Fonda 200’ having won the last two editions.

Single event winners include David Pearson, Bill Wimble, Harry Peek, Junior Johnson, Kenny Brightbill, Kenny Tremont, Lou Lazzaro, Mike Romano and Steve Danish.

The largest winner’s share in Northeast Modified racing – with $53,000 going to the STSS Modified winner – is on the line in addition to valuable points toward both the Halmar International ‘Elite’ Series $25,000 championship battle and River Valley Builders $15,000 North Region title fight.

Three days of racing are set for the famed Track of Champions leading up to the ‘200’ on Saturday night.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: