World Of Outlaws Late Model Series’ Best To Do Battle At Williams Grove Speedway Friday

Story By: SHAWN BROUSE / WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY – MECHANICSBURG, PA – Messick’s Farm Equipment will present the World of Outlaws Late Models Series and the Billy Kimmel Memorial for 410 sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway coming up this Friday night, August 19 at 7:30 pm.

The World of Outlaws Late Models will be in action for just the fifth time in Williams Grove history on Friday night.

The circuit will compete in a 40-lap, $10,000 to win main event.

Previous outlaws late models winners at Williams Grove have been Larry Phillips in 1988 and Brandon Sheppard in 2019 and in 2020.

Last year Pennsylvania’s own Gregg Satterlee bested the touring invaders for a popular win.

Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Illinois, is the current outlaws late models point leader with four wins under his belt this season.

Erb will be in action at the show along with Tanner English, Benton, KY.; Max Blair, Centerville; Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, IA.; and Brent Larson, Lake Elmo, MN.

Satterlee and former outlaws series champion Rick Eckert of York won unsanctioned late model events at the track earlier this season.

Blair is also a former oval winner.

Also on the agenda Friday is the make-up Billy Kimmel Memorial for the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint cars.

The Kimmel Memorial will pay $6,000 to win the 25-lap feature and regular Williams Grove handicapping will be used to set the heat starting grids.

At the age of 27, Kimmel was fatally injured in a sprint car racing accident at Williams Grove Speedway in 2007.

Devon Borden is the defending winner of the Billy Kimmel Memorial.

Event sponsor Messick’s Farm Equipment has five locations in the mid-state with facilities in Mount Joy, Halifax, Abbottstown, Carlisle and Aspers.

Adult general admission is set at $30 with youth ages 13-20 admitted for just $10 while kids ages 12 and under are always admitted for FREE at Williams Grove Speedway.


Williams Grove 40th Annual Gunn Memorial, All Star Twin 20s Are August 26th

Williams Grove Speedway will present the Jack Gunn Memorial Twin 20s for the All Stars Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars Series coming up Friday, August 26 at 7:30 pm.

Honoring the former promoter, the exciting event will be a sprints only program with gates for the big program opening at 5:30 pm.

Presented by Union Quarries, the Jack Gunn Memorial twin 20-lap mains will each pay $4,000 to win with total purses for each feature worth over $20,000 each.

Time trials will set the heat starting grids while the winner of the first 20-lap main event will draw for an inversion to start the second feature event.

Fast Tees Screenprinting of Thompsontown will pay $300 to set fast time over the field.

Both 20-lap feature events will carry full points toward the 2022 Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint car Williams Grove Speedway track title.

The All Stars point leader, Tyler Courtney of Indianapolis, Indiana, will lead the travelers into the Gunn Memorial.

Courtney has five wins on the season over his closest pursuer in points, Justin Peck of Monrovia, Indiana who holds four victories.

Other series winners this season expected to compete in the twins include Parker Price Miller, Cap Henry, Zeb Wise and Hunter Schuerenberg.

Local drivers that have beaten the band this season both at home and on the road should also be in the field including Danny Dietrich, Brent Marks and Anthony Macri.

That trio alone accounts for a total of nine series wins on the year including five for Macri.

Marks won the only other All Star show at Williams Grove this season when he scored the Tommy Classic back in April.

Event sponsor Union Quarries of Carlisle is one of the top stone, concrete and blacktop producing companies in the region.

Union Quarries has been providing materials to Adams County, York County, Perry County and throughout the area since 1961.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: