Over 1,500 Entries With More Expected At Tulsa Shootout Before Teams Hit The Track On Tuesday

Story By: BRYAN HULBERT / TULSA SHOOTOUT – TULSA, OK – The ninth time in as many years that the Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout has exceeded 1,000 entries is now greeted with the second year the entry count has surpassed the 1,500 mark at the close of early entries for the “Mecca of Micros”.

Happing December 26-31, 2022, under the roof of the SageNet Center at Expo Square, the current entry count stands at 1,533, with drivers numbering 643, from 375 municipalities, 37 states, and four countries (USA, Aust., Can., NL). Looking at the entry list from one year ago, the count is currently ahead by 11, with the next opportunity for teams to enter on Monday, December 26, during move-in.

With six divisions to choose from, that allows drivers to compete in as many as five of those divisions during the week if a driver’s age doesn’t disqualify them from running Restricted A-Class. Drivers eligible to run that max amount of division numbers ten. An additional 137 drivers will take on the four divisions, while 122 will run three classes. A total of 187 are registered into a pair of divisions. In all, 453 drivers will run multiple classes.

Out of the six feature winners in 2022, four drivers have signed on to defend their titles.

Craig Ronk, who topped the 55-lap Outlaw feature, is among the drivers in four separate divisions this time. Carrying the momentum of a Golden Driller through his season, Jett Nunley will seek back-to-back wins in Restricted while adding both stock divisions to his plate.

Already taking home two wins in as many years in Junior Sprints, California’s Lucas Mauldin will transition into Restricted and A-Class for 2023.

The final defending champion on the list is Jake Hagopian. His second A-Class score in four years, Hagopian will be busy with entries in the four main divisions. Missing from last year’s list of winners so far is Jeffrey Newell, who won Outlaw Non-Wing in a photo finish with the other driver who has yet to enter, Emerson Axsom, who topped Stock Non-Wing.

Current entry counts:

  • Outlaw: 219
  • Non-Wing Outlaw: 348
  • A-Class: 357
  • Stock Non-Wing: 388
  • Restricted: 125
  • Junior Sprints: 96

Entry into the event is currently closed. Anyone not pre-entered will have to enter at the event during check-in on Monday, December 26, 2022.

On Monday, December 26, 2022, all teams will be moved into the SageNet Center starting at 7:00 A.M. Practice will take place on Tuesday, December 27, 2022, with the first rounds of Heats taking the green around 7:00 P.M. (CT). Draw will close on Tuesday, December 27, at 11:00 A.M (CT). If you check-in after your class has completed practice, you will not get a session.

Racing will continue each day, starting at 9:00 A.M., with the race for the Golden Driller wrapping up on New Year’s Eve.

Featured classes at the 38th running of the “Mecca of Micros” include A-Class, Stock Non-Wing, Restricted, Outlaw, Non-Wing Outlaw, and Junior Sprints. Information regarding specific daily running orders will be established after entries open.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: