Flemington Speedway Historical Society Set To Present TAS Awards & Nostalgic Race Movies

Story By: SANDY BATE / FLEMINGTON SPEEDWAY HISTORICAL SOCIETY – RARITAN TOWNSHIP, NJ – The Flemington Speedway Historical Society (FSHS) will honor its “Most Influential Persons” with the 2022 TAS Award presentation for recipients Ray Bateman, Paul Deasey, Wendy Kennedy, and Bob Rossell on Saturday, February 26th at the familiar Flemington Elks Lodge #1928, 165 Route 31, Flemington, across from where the former Flemington Speedway and Fairgrounds once was.

An evening of nostalgic Flemington Speedway racing movies will also be shown in addition to the awards presentation.

Admission for the TAS Awards and nostalgic racing movies night is $10.00 per person, payable at the door. Credit cards are not accepted. The event is free for Flemington Speedway Historical Society (FSHS) members. There is no advance purchase of tickets. Collared shirts are strongly suggested for men.

Doors open at 5:30 pm, along with the start of the nostalgic racing movies. Hor d’oeuvres will be served at 6:00 pm, and the awards presentation is scheduled to start at 7:30pm, followed by more nostalgic Flemington Speedway racing movies.

This year’s honorees were voted on by the FSHS membership at their annual meeting and will join Flemington Speedway’s Most Influential Persons inaugural recipient Al Tasnady (“Tas”), whom the award was renamed to honor. The 2013 recipients were Paul Kuhl and Billy Pauch. In 2014, Stan Ploski, Ken Brenn Sr., Ace Lane Sr., Bill Singer, and Sammy Beavers were honored. In 2015, Jackie McLaughlin, Ken Brenn Jr., Glenn Fitzcharles, and Jim Horton Sr. received the distinction. In 2016, Gerald Chamberlain, Budd Olsen, Ace Lane Jr., and Bob Pickell were honored. In 2018, Harry Dee, Kenny Brightbill, Billy Osmun, and Ray Liss were added to the TAS Award recipient list. The 2020 recipients of Flemington Speedway’s Most Influential Persons were Ollie Butler, Les Farley, Les Katona, and John Norcia.

Receiving the TAS Awards will be Bob Rossell, as well as family and friends of the late Ray Bateman, Paul Deasey, and Wendy Kennedy. Special guests as well as past TAS Award recipients will be in attendance at the event.

Race cars and memorabilia will be on display, and door prizes and more are planned for this memorable evening! This popular event is open to the public, and admission is limited by fire code occupancy to 393 persons.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: