Anthony Macri Storms From Eighth To Win Sprint Car A-Main Friday At Williams Grove Speedway

Story By: SHAWN BROUSE / WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY – MECHANICSBURG, PA – Anthony Macri came from eighth starting spot to claim the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

The win was Macri’s 15th overall of the season and his third of the year at the speedway.

Driving the Westbrook 1W, Robbie Kendall blasted from the pole position into the lead at the start of the 410 sprint feature, holding sway over Brent Shearer during the first half of the race.

Kendall entered the backmarkers on the seventh tour as Macri battled with TJ Stutts for third.

Macri took second from Shearer with a low move in the first corner on the 12th lap just before a caution flag slowed the pace, wiping out a 2.014 second lead built by Kendall.

On the restart, Macri blasted under Kendall deep in the first turn and then slid up into the lead as Kendall tried to fight back working the inside lane off of the turn two cushion.

But Macri pulled away once in front only to have his pace slowed with nine laps to go when Justin Whittall slowed to a stop.

Dylan Norris wrestled with Kendall for second on the restart and briefly took the spot before Kendall returned the favor to hold the position to the finish.

Macri’s margin of victory was 4.704 seconds.

With Indiana mechanic Bernie Steuben turning the wrenches on Macri’s No. 39M, the winner was happy to take the checkers.

“I had a fire under my ass and I felt like I had a point to prove,” he said.

Danny Dietrich started 16th and motored to third at the finish, claiming the PA Dyno Hard Charger Award.

Norris rode home fourth followed by Freddie Rahmer.

Sixth through 10th went to Chase Dietz, TJ Stutts, Brent Shearer, Mark Smith and Lucas Wolfe.

Heats went to Kendall, Stutts and Shearer with the consolation going to Billy Dietrich.


Feature Finishes


410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Anthony Macri, 2. Robbie Kendall, 3. Danny Dietrich, 4. Dylan Norris, 5. Freddie Rahmer, 6. Chase Dietz, 7. TJ Stutts, 8. Brent Shearer, 9. Mark Smith, 10. Lucas Wolfe, 11. Tyler Ross, 12. Kyle Moody, 13. Brandon Rahmer, 14. Billy Dietrich, 15. Cody Fletcher, 16. Dwight Leppo, 17. Bryn Gohn, 18. Steve Buckwalter, 19. Justin Whittall, 20. Brad Howard, 21. Jordan Givler, 22. Todd Allen, 23. Alan Krimes. 24. Gordon Senft III.

DNQ: Dylan Cisney, Austin Bishop, Rick Lafferty, Steve Kisamore

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: