Dylan Madsen & Zachary Buff Take DIRTcar Sportsman Heat Race Wins At World Short Track Championships

Story By: MICHELINA FRISS / DIRTCAR – CONCORD, NC – The VP Racing Fuels DIRTcar Northeast Sportsman Modifieds hit the track for the second night of the World Short Track Championships for their respective Heat Races at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

The first Heat Race saw the drivers in the top three starting positions capture the top three finishing positions. Dylan Madsen of Spencertown, NY found clean air immediately after starting on the pole and kept his lead for the duration of the eight-lap contention.

Fourth place finisher in Thursday night’s Feature Ayden Cipriano battled to keep up with Madsen but was not able to strike and settled for the runner-up position. Kevin Ridley stayed consistent, repeating his third-place performance from Thursday night’s Feature.

Jordan Millard finished fourth and Derrick McGrew finished fifth.

In Heat Race number two, Zach Buff and Andrew Buff, brothers who competed on the DIRTcar Northeast Series tour for the 2022 season, started side-by-side on the front row. Zach took advantage of the pole position from the green flag and never looked back, while Andrew tried to keep the pressure on.

His brother maintained his lead for the eight-lap matchup, while Andrew settled for runner up. Mike Fowler, a regular season contender alongside the Buff brothers, made a last lap past on Thursday night’s Feature winner David Rogers to finish in third place.

David Rogers finished fourth and Michael Wright finished fifth.

All finishers will transfer to tomorrow’s Feature race.


VP Racing Fuels NE Sportsman Modifieds | 21 Entries

Heat 1 8 Laps | 00:03:50.380

1. 89-Dylan Madsen[1]; 2. 5C-Ayden Cipriano[2]; 3. 20X-Kevin Ridley[3]; 4. 99-Jordan Millard[6]; 5. 26-Derrick McGrew[4]; 6. 44C-Dave Conant[5]; 7. 52-Jessica Power[8]; 8. 29-Tanner Forbes[9]; 9. 49-Chris Jakubiak[7]; 10. 23C-Tommy D’Angelo[11]; 11. 47-Walter Cook[10]

Heat 2 8 Laps | 00:02:34.830

1. 01-Zachary Buff[1]; 2. 92-Andrew Buff[2]; 3. 410-Mike Fowler[4]; 4. 44-David Rogers[3]; 5. 78-Michael Wright[5]; 6. 18-Blayden Arquette[6]; 7. 7X-Chuck Miller[7]; 8. 23-Cole Perry[8]; 9. 1R-Ricky Thompson[10]; 10. 73G-Gordon Hermanson Jr[9]

Qualifying | 00:06:32.993

1. 89-Dylan Madsen, 00:17.703[16]; 2. 01-Zachary Buff, 00:17.726[11]; 3. 5C-Ayden Cipriano, 00:17.735[18]; 4. 92-Andrew Buff, 00:17.835[17]; 5. 20X-Kevin Ridley, 00:17.846[9]; 6. 44-David Rogers, 00:17.913[2]; 7. 26-Derrick McGrew, 00:17.933[14]; 8. 410-Mike Fowler, 00:17.951[13]; 9. 44C-Dave Conant, 00:17.954[15]; 10. 78-Michael Wright, 00:17.985[3]; 11. 99-Jordan Millard, 00:18.017[12]; 12. 18-Blayden Arquette, 00:18.018[20]; 13. 49-Chris Jakubiak, 00:18.182[4]; 14. 7X-Chuck Miller, 00:18.222[8]; 15. 52-Jessica Power, 00:18.405[7]; 16. 23-Cole Perry, 00:18.445[1]; 17. 29-Tanner Forbes, 00:18.521[5]; 18. 73G-Gordon Hermanson Jr, 00:18.591[6]; 19. 47-Walter Cook, 00:18.714[19]; 20. 1R-Ricky Thompson, 00:18.738[21]; 21. 23C-Tommy D’Angelo, 00:18.894[10]

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: