Tulsa Shootout Smashes Entry Record For ’22 Edition; World’s Largest Indoor Micro Sprint Race

Story By: BRYAN HULBERT / TULSA SHOOTOUT – TULSA, OK – The Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout is set to run December 29, 2021, through January 1, 2022, and already, the number of entries received for the world’s largest indoor Micro Sprint race has been broken and is on track to climb even more with the deadline to pre-enter set for December 15, 2021.

Smashing the record set in 2020 at 1,397 entries among 606 drivers, the 2022 event has already received 1,430 entries among 617 drivers. Making the number of entries more impressive is the 2022 show will feature the fewest classes of any Tulsa Shootout, with only six divisions.

“We’ve been ahead from where we were in previous years and figured we would be close to the record, but this is crazy how many we have before the event,” stated Terry Mattox, who oversees entries for the Tulsa Shootout.

On how many more entries the event is expecting, Terry stated, “It’s tough to say. We’ve had as many as 250 more enter at the event before practice.”

Currently, drivers are representing 392 municipalities across 35 United States (AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, HI, IA, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MD, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, NE, NJ, NM, NM, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, TN, TX, WA, WI) and one Australian Province (NSW).

Previous Golden Driller winners in the mix number 21, with four returning to defend their 2021 victory, and one looking for a new challenge to conquer as 600cc Modifieds no longer participate in the Tulsa Shootout.

Defending Champions – Kris Carroll (Non-Wing Outlaw), Lucas Mauldin (Jr. Sprint), Mitchel Moles (Outlaw), Jaxton Wiggs (Restricted), Mason Keefer (600cc Modified)

Previous Shootout Winners – Jade Avedisian (1), Brady Bacon (4), Jett Barnes (1), Brad Best (1), Alex Bright (1), Michael Faccinto (2), Frank Flud (4), Jake Hagopian (1), Blake Hahn (7), Trey Marcham (2), Jadon Rogers (1), Kyle Spence (2), Darren Stewart (3), Jason Tyer (1), Chad Winfrey (2), Austin Wood (1).

Happening December 29, 2021, through January 1, 2022, the Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout will be preceded by load-in on Monday, December 27, 2021, with early parking beginning at 7:00 AM (CT). As soon as the last trailer is set, all remaining teams will be allowed to begin moving in to unload their cars and equipment.

Check-in and Draw will coincide with Monday’s move-in, with the draw opening at 9:00 AM (CT). Anyone not able to unload on Monday can finish up on Tuesday, December 28, from 8:00, AM to 11:00 AM (CT), with draw finishing up during that time.

Practice for all classes will begin after Noon on Tuesday, December 28, 2021, to allow racing to commence on Wednesday, December 29, 2021. Racing will continue daily like normal through Saturday, January 1, 2022. The exact times and running order will be posted once we are close to the event.

Teams can enter online at http://www.tulsashootout.com, by phone at (918) 838-3777, or by fax at (918) 836-5517.

The 37th edition of the Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout will feature A-Class (Wing, Non-Wing, and Restricted), Outlaw (Wing and Non-Wing), and Junior Sprints. For all classes, RACEceivers are mandatory. The frequency is 454.000.

Rules questions can be directed to Matt Ward, the Director of Operations for the Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout. Contact for Matt Ward includes Cell Phone at (918) 995-1650 or the office at (918) 838-3777.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: