Mack McCarter Steers To First Spring Nationals Triumph Saturday Night At Boyd’s Speedway

Story By: RYAN DELPH / SOUTHERN NATIONALS SERIES – RINGGOLD, GA – Mack McCarter, of Gatlinburg, Tennessee, recorded his first career Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals victory on Saturday night in the penultimate series event at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Georgia.

Mack clicked off the fastest lap in Group A during the qualifying session to earn the pole position for the 40-lap feature event. He then tracked down early race leader Jensen Ford and muscled past to grab the point on the twelfth circuit. From there, Mack controlled the field for the remainder of the distance to collect the $5,053 winner’s check at the Chattanooga-area oval.

Series regular Payton Freeman, who sits second in points, improved four positions during the course of the contest to land an impressive runner-up performance – only 1.570 seconds behind at the checkers. Current #SpringNationals point leader Carson Ferguson marched past seven competitors to round out the podium in third. Early pacesetter Jensen Ford, who led the first eleven circuits, came home in the fourth position while Brandon Williams crossed the finish line in fifth after briefly running as high as second.

Only three caution flags slowed the action tonight at Boyd’s Speedway. A multicar pileup on the second circuit brought out the first yellow flag. Dillon Crim slowing in turn four on the 24th lap drew another caution. Justin Cameron then slowed on lap 26 to bring out the third and final yellow of the evening. Fourteen of the twenty-two starters in the field finished on the lead lap of the entertaining event.

“We are usually terrible here, but we had a hard tire on and I knew if we just hung around the front that we would be there at the end,” quoted McCarter in victory lane. “I just have to thank everyone associated with this team. MasterSbilt – this is only our third race on this car – and my whole family and crew for their support. I couldn’t really tell how big of a lead I had from the signals in the infield, so I just tried to drive as hard as I could and not mess up.”

Mack McCarter drove a McCarter Brothers Racing #51 MasterSbilt Chassis powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine with primary sponsorship from Jim Beeman Lumber, Parkway Liquor Store, West End Package Store, Tennessee Homemade Wines, and Bilstein Shock Absorbers.

A 24 car field assembled at Boyd’s Speedway tonight for round nine of the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series. Jensen Ford earned a $100 bonus for picking up Fast Time honors with his quick lap of 14.637 seconds. Dalton Cook and Dusty Carver recorded the victories in the pair of consolation events.

The 2022 edition of the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals will conclude on Sunday, May 29 at Duck River Raceway Park in Wheel, Tennessee. The pit gates will swing open at 2:00pm tomorrow and the grandstands will open shortly after at 3:00pm. The Driver’s Meeting is scheduled for 4:00pm with hot laps taking to the racetrack at 4:30pm. Racing action for the ‘Memorial Day Classic’ presented by Victory Fun Park will begin by 6:00pm.

In addition to the Spring Nationals competitors gunning for the $5,053 payday in the season finale, other classes in dirt-slinging action will include 604 Late Models ($1,000 to win), 602 Late Models ($1,000 to win), CRUSA Open Wheel Modifieds ($1,000 to win), Modified Street ($700 to win), Pure Pony ($1,000 to win), FWD Rookie ($300 to win), Factory Stocks ($600 to win), Dwarf ($400 to win), CRUSA Street Stock ($800 to win), Mod Lites ($750 to win), and Kids Mini Cup. Duck River Raceway Park is located at 1100 Haskins Chapel Road in Lewisburg, Tennessee 37091.

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels
Round 9 Race Summary
Saturday, May 28, 2022
Boyd’s Speedway – Ringgold, Georgia

Schaeffer’s Oil Feature Finish (40 Laps):
1. (1) Mack McCarter $5,053
2. (6) Payton Freeman $2,500
3. (10) Carson Ferguson $1,600
4. (2) Jensen Ford $1,200
5. (4) Brandon Williams $900
6. (7) Cody Overton $700
7. (5) Jason Croft $675
8. (3) Eli Beets $650
9. (11) Dalton Cook $625
10. (15) Will Roland $600
11. (20) Justin Cameron $580
12. (14) Jordy Nipper $560
13. (12) Dusty Carver $540
14. (8) John Ownbey $520
15. (17) Joe Denby $500
16. (19) Brian Burke $480
17. (18) Dillon Crim $470
18. (13) Heath Hindman $460
19. (21) Tim Thornton $450
20. (9) Kenny Collins $450
21. (16) David Crabtree $450
22. (22) Stanton Davis $450

Entries: 24
Lap Leaders: Jensen Ford (Laps 1-11), Mack McCarter (Laps 12-40)
Cautions: 3 (Multicar Pileup on Lap 2, Dillon Crim Slowed on Lap 24, and Justin Cameron Slowed on Lap 26)

FK Rod Ends Time Trials:
Fast Time Overall: Jensen Ford 14.637 seconds
Group A (Top Five Locked In): Mack McCarter, Eli Beets, Jason Croft, Cody Overton, Kenny Collins
Group B (Top Five Locked In): Jensen Ford, Brandon Williams, Payton Freeman, John Ownbey, Carson Ferguson

Sunoco Race Fuels B-Main #1 Finish (Top Six Transfer): 1. Dalton Cook, 2. Heath Hindman, 3. Will Roland, 4. Joe Denby, 5. Brian Burke, 6. Tim Thornton, 7. Craig Greer

American Racer South B-Main #2 Finish (Top Six Transfer): 1. Dusty Carver, 2. Jordy Nipper, 3. David Crabtree, 4. Dillon Crim, 5. Justin Cameron, 6. Stanton Davis, 7. Tyler Nichols

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: