RPW Column: John Ferrier Scores First Career Accord Speedway Modified Win Friday

Column By: MIKE TRAVERSE / RPW – MIDDLETOWN, NY – The Ferrier name now appears three times on the all-time Accord Speedway Modified win list.

Scott Ferrier has nine wins, including one in 2022. Ken Ferrier has picked up two throughout the years, and on Friday night, John Ferrier joined his brothers.

Ferrier raced to victory in the 30-lap Modified feature event and did it in impressive style.

It was the Ferrier brothers occupying the first 3 starting spots in the feature as John outraced Scott at the start to grab the lead. The first 15 laps ran off at a fast clip, caution free. John was out front with Scott 2nd and Danny Tyler 3rd. Tyler got by Scott for 2nd and started to close in on John as the running order of the rest of the front runners remained unchanged until the first caution was out at halfway for Ken Ferrier and Andy Bachetti coming together in turn 2.

After the green was back out, another quick caution flag flew. After the restart, the caution was out again after 18 complete which saw Danny Creeden head into the pits and did not return. Scott Ferrier got by Tyler to take back 2nd when the green was back out.

Jerry Higbie had moved up into the top 5 and was looking for more when the caution was out after 24 down for Tyler, Randy Green and Geoff Quackenbush. John Ferrier again led on the restart and the final laps went caution free as John was 2 seconds ahead of Scott at the finish. Higbie finished 3rd with Daniel Morgiewicz Jr. 4th and Bachetti, who came back after earlier difficulties, finished 5th. Mike Ricci was 6th, Rich Ricci Jr. 7th, Bobby Hackel IV 8th, Brett Graham 9th and Joe Judge 10th.

Despite the rash of cautions in the 2nd half of the race, John really had the race under control.

“I think it had something to do with the heat of the tires. I kept going really low on the cautions, into the wetter stuff to kind of keep things under control,” John said in Victory Lane. “I was running a fairly soft tire, what we’ve been running all year here because we can’t get the hard tires. I just had that in mind that I didn’t want to overheat the tires. I think that was the main difference. I was actively trying to keep cooling them off. I look at them now and it looks like they still have some life left in them, which is great.”

It was a rough outing for the top 3 in the Modified points. Creeden, the points leader, finished 20th. Second place Tyler was 18th and 3rd place Jimmy Wells finished 12th. The standings will be very tight amongst the top 3 once they are tabulated.

Earlier in the evening, Brian Hommel Construction, the night’s sponsor, hels a Modified dash for Cash. Wells was the winner followed by Tyler, Creeden, Ken Ferrier, Scott Ferrier and John Ferrier.

Travis Green should have the Sportsman point lead after racing to his 3rd win of the season as he held off a late challenge from Cody Higbie to take the win in teh 25 lap event.

Ryan Stortini led the first 8 caution free laps. The first caution flew when two of the Sportsman point contenders, Tyler Johnston and Jimmy Johnson tangled. Both continued with Johnston with a lot of body damage.

Kevin Stevens was the new leader on the restart. After a pile-up on the frontstretch with 10 laps done, Stevens slowed on the restart, handing the lead to Brian Durbin. Durbin looked like he was in line for the win as he was able to hold off Green on some restarts. Green finally got the lead from Durbin and Brian slowed and went into the pits.

Higbie had come from deep in the pack to move into 2nd and had some good looks inside of Green the last few laps. But Travis held on and was the winner by 4/10ths of a second ahead of Cody. Hunter Lapp made a trip to Accord Speedway on Friday and avoided the cautions to finish 3rd. Jared LaBagh was 4th and Jared Miller 5th. The rest of the top 10 were Johnson 6th, Darrell Quackenbush 7th, Chris Diamond 8th, Aidan Elliott 9th and Ryan Neiger 10th.

Walt Henry won his 2nd consecutive Pure Stock race Friday night, his 3rd win this season. Chet Stanton was 2nd, John Hechinger 3rd, Ray Tarantino 4th and Dave Gerard 5th. Aiden Demorest finished 6th with Brian Walsh 7th, Bill Deak Jr. 8th, Hunter Lee 9th and Preston Demorest 10th.

Eric Jennings scored his 3rd NEWS Sprint win of the season on Friday. Charles Weslowski was 2nd, Dan Malley was 3rd, Jeremy Quick 4th and Steve Kyser 5th.

It was win number 7 on the season for Amber Baccaglini in the All Star Slingshots, her 3rd in a row. Madison Lewis was 2nd. Derick Brown 3rd, Sophia Spear 4th and Alex McCann 5th.

Brayden Traver took the lead near the halfway mark and stretched out to a big lead to take the Junior Slingshot victory, his 4th win of the season. Calleigh Stritmater was 2nd, Preston Trautschold 3rd, Bodie Marks 4th and Brayden Marks 5th.

Ed King was the Fireball 4 Cylinder winner, his first victory of the season. Ryan Heady was 2nd, Brandon Conklin 3rd, Tim DeGrote 4th and Chris Dyer 5th. Richie Robinson, Carly Brown, Jeff DeGroat, George Barringer and John North rounded out the top 10.

Kyle Smith won for the 3rd time this season in the Rookie Sportsman. The rest of the front running order was not available for this column.

With over 100 cars in action, it was a very busy evening at Accord.

Accord Speedway wraps up their points season next Friday with a big show. First Responders will be honored along with 9/11 Remembrance and Fireworks. The evening’s sponsor is O’Connor & Partners PLLC.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!
%d bloggers like this: